Campus Planning Committee Membership

The voting membership includes one representative from each college and one from the Library; one representative designated by each Vice President and one designated by the President’s Office; one member of the staff (elected by the NMSU Employee Council); one faculty member elected by the Faculty Senate; two student representatives recommended for appointment by the President of ASNMSU to serve a one year term; one member from the Athletic Department; and one member from Special Events.

Members (college appointments, voting):

Yesenia Palma-Dominguez ACES Chief Support OfficerAgriculture Environmental
and Consumer Sciences
2 YR
Jim MurphyInterim Associate DeanArts and Sciences2 YR
Pat Gavin
Professor, MarketingEconomics and International
2 YR
David MitchellAssociate ProfessorKlipsch School of Electric
Computer Engineering
2 YR
Conni DeBlieck
Assistant ProfessorHealth, Education, and Social Transformation2 YR
Katie Terpis
Associate DeanLibrary2 YR
Mike LuchauManager for Facilities and ServicesDACC2 YR
Garrett Moseley
Undergraduate RepresentativeAssociated Students of NMSU1 YR
Leora or Sam Graduate RepresentativeAssociated Students of NMSU1 YR
Steve Stochaj or Julia ParraChairFaculty Senate2 YR
Susanne Berger
ChairEmployee Council3 YR

Ex-officio members of the committee include a representative of the City of Las Cruces (recommended by the Mayor for appointment by the President) and a representative of Dona Ana County (recommended by the County Manager for appointment by the President). Members seated by virtue of their position.

Position Appointments (Ex-Officio, voting):

NameCommittee PositionTerm
Heather WatenpaughUniversity ArchitectN/A
D'Anne StuartAssociate Vice President for Administration & FinanceN/A
Robert HerreraExecutive Director for Project Development & EngineeringN/A
VacantFacilities Sustainability ManagerN/A
Patrick TurnerDir,First Year Initiatives, Provost OfficeN/A
Scott EschenbrennerPresident / CEO Aggie Development / Special Assistant to PresidentN/A
Lynn SchlemeyerDirector, University Alumni Relations, University AdvancementN/A
Tanner Schaub
Vice President for Research
Leslie CervantesPresident's Office
Michael SmithDirector for Special EventsN/A
Braun CartwrightDirector of AthleticsN/A
Jack KirbyAssistant Director for Environmental Health Safety & Risk ManagementN/A

Resource Members (non-voting):

These are position appointments.

NameCommittee PositionTerm
Jon WebsterVice Chancellor, Strategic System Services N/A
Jose LoeraFacilities & Services Assistant Director, Project Development & EngineeringOptional
VacantFacilities & Services Assistant Director, Project Development & EngineeringOptional
Bart LaneAssociate Vice President for FacilitiesN/A
Orasa VaughtOffice of Space ManagementN/A
VacantAssistant Vice President of Auxiliary ServicesN/A
VacantParking & Transportation ServicesN/A
Andrew BowenChief of PoliceN/A
Tessa Abeyta-StuveLas Cruces City CouncilN/A
VacantDona Ana CountyN/A

Our mission is to:

Efficiently provide a safe, well maintained and environmentally sustainable university community.